Cut Off Those Fair-Weather Friends

I think anyone out there who has children, or who got married at a young age like I did can relate to this. I lost a lot of friends. As soon as I announced my pregnancy a lot of people I spent time with no longer hit me up to make plans. They might check in on me occasionally or like my Facebook posts, but that was the extent of it.

Letting Go of Unhealthy Friendships

For a long time I was sad about this, and I wanted so badly to mend those friendships. Recently though I’ve realized that it’s not my responsibility to reconnect with these people. It was their decision to stop spending time with me, and if that’s what they want there’s no reason for me to be upset over it.

A few of these people pop back in and out of my life, at their convenience of course. I usually don’t mind this, and I’m there for them when they need me. But I’ll tell you why I’m a bit more selective now about who I give my attention to.

I’ve continued to be a good friend to people despite them being non-receptive to my efforts.

When I was the one suffering and I needed a shoulder to cry on, they usually ignored my calls.

If this is how someone treats you it’s clear what their true intentions are.

If someone doesn’t respect you the same way you respect them, let them go. It may hurt for a while, you may wonder why they don’t miss you as much as you miss them. But I promise in the long run you will be healthier without that friendship in your life.

Friendships just like any relationships should be a give and take. If a friend consistently lets you down or takes advantage of you, it’s okay to admit that you’re not gaining anything from the friendship. It’s okay to move on from that person. Do not feel guilty for letting go of someone who doesn’t treat you right.

Leave a Reply

