My Version of Minimalist Parenting

It seems like a lot of moms who practice minimalism try to compete over who has the least amount of baby-related stuff. And that’s fine, but that’s not exactly how I implement minimalism into my parenting.

No, I guess my son doesn’t necessarily “need” a changing table, sure he would make it without one. But it makes my life easier, it’s where I keep his clothes and diapers organized and I don’t have to break my back every time I change a diaper.

The reason I call my parenting style minimalistic is not because I live with the bare minimum. I think that less is great, but there’s so much more to this lifestyle than just getting rid of things!

Overcoming Mom Guilt (1)

This is how I plan to intertwine minimalism into my parenting style:

  • Encourage imagination. In my opinion, having less toys will inspire a child to be more creative during their play time. Without all the screens and flashing lights they’ll be more likely to use their own brain.
  • Teach appreciation and gratefulness. I want my child to be grateful for every penny that’s spent on him. I want him to know that when someone buys him a gift it’s because they are being kind and generous, not because he inherently deserves it.
  • Less scheduling. This one will probably be the most difficult for me, because I’m a very time-oriented person. But statistics show that families that have more free time and aren’t constantly on the go are much happier. I want to teach my son that it’s okay to take some time to relax.
  • Let him choose his own hobbies. I know I’ll probably be tempted to sign him up for little league or piano lessons, but I also know this isn’t the way children find their passions. Forcing a hobby upon a child often times stresses them out and causes them to resent the activity more than enjoy it. I’d much rather him seek out his own extracurriculars.
  • Experiences > Stuff. I want to make it very clear in our home that we value our loved ones and the memories we share with them much more than the stuff they buy us. For example: Christmas gifts are nice, but the real gift is spending time together.

 

Other minimalist mamas, how do you plan to share this lifestyle in your homes?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “My Version of Minimalist Parenting

  1. This is great and I totally agree with you! It’s so easy to over complicate things these day. Minimalism can’t be limited to just “stuff” but how we utilize the time we have. Having very little “stuff” doesn’t do much good if you’re not being wise with your time and and the opportunities you have with your children now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post. I am totally into minimalism as well for parenting for lifestyle for everything. But like you said it doesn’t always amount to having less stuff. Sometimes it’s less thinking or less doing or less eating 😬

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

